5. Software Features

5.1. General:

RCIS is a timetable driven data base system linked to display and audio drivers for an integrated timetable information system.

RCIS uses a Graphical User Interface (GUI) to allow a simple visual approach to controlling the data base and displays. MS Windows provides this GUI.

5.1.1. System Principles:

RCIS is based on the original CSE2240 Specification which determines that the data base is configured in days. The Off Line menu contains the Master Files. Each master file is valid for a specific type of day, and/or a date range, or perhaps just one day, depending on the user configuration set up in the Master Files menu.


 RCIS will allow multiple lists to be merged during extraction thus catering for the minor discrepancies that usually occur on Monday mornings or Friday nights.

For displaying and controlling the trains on the current day, the OnLine menu is used. This is a train list that is extracted from the OffLine at 3 am in the morning. This train list is called the Todayís Service.

Todayís Service can be modified and appended during the course of the current day to cope with temporary time table changes. The Todayís Service list is temporary and changes that are made to it are lost at the end of the day.

To change the database permanently, the user must gain access to the OffLine and change the Master File relevant to the day required.

5.2. Menu Overview:

Menus are allocated in a top down hierarchical structure allowing the user to continue descending into menus as required and always allowing the user to get back to the Start Up Menu by pressing ESC to ascend one menu level each time.

5.2.1. The Start Up Menu and the 5 sub menus:

There are five main menus being Status, Notice, OffLine, OnLine, Other. From any of these menus you can get back to the Start Up Menu by pressing the ESC key once. The Start Up Menu is explained immediately below while the other menus are discussed under the relevant headings:

5.2.2. The Global Options Panel:

5.2.3. Start Up Menu:

5.3. Configuration:

5.3.1. Modes, RCIS system

The system has 5 main modes. These are Manual, Confirm and Automatic. The main modes are explained as follows

1. In Manual mode, the user must select and post trains manually.

2. In Confirm mode, RCIS automatically selects pending trains and offers them to the user for the user to post manually. See para 4.3, p* for an illustration of how RCIS offers such trains.

3. In Auto Post mode, RCIS automatically selects and posts pending trains.

4. In Automatic Post And Depart mode, RCIS automatically selects, posts and departs pending trains at standard time.

 Note: This mode is based on the computer clock only! We recommend it only to ease usage but not for unattended control. We advise that unattended use will undoubtedly lead to misinformation and the erosion of public confidence in electronic information.

5. The 5th mode, "TD Automatic" allows the TD (Train Describer) circuit where available to automatically depart trains.

 6. DRA: Further modes include auto announce, auto pre-announce, auto remark announce.

5.3.2. Time and Date

The Time and Date can be altered by clicking the "Set New Time" screen button or by clicking the "Set New Date" screen button.

5.3.3. Summary Queuing

5.4. Display Control Features:

5.4.1. Out Of Sequence Posting

5.4.2. Train Status, Hold & Pend:

 Hold: A train that is late will show up as a red bar on the Status Window. Also, if the system is in full auto (auto depart), this will stop the train being departed. The user clicks "Hold" or uses the F8 key.
Pend: Pend allows the user to quickly put the train back into a Pending State (original unposted state) where the train is posted or has been already departed. This is useful when the trains arrive out of sequence or where the wrong train has been posted.
5.4.3. Platform, Post Style & Post Ahead:

5.5. Master File Editing

5.5.1. Copying Master Service Files:

5.5.2. Advanced Record Manipulation:

5.5.3. Editing Off Line Trains: